On The Resistance: It’s about survival

Ever since the resistance movement against Donald Trump started many, mostly Trump supporters, have been asking why people don’t just accept that he won and move on. Like, doesn’t it just make you sore losers?
Well, the answer is that for many resistance is not much of a choice. At least not unless you are an completely apathetic being who doesn’t care about bad shit that could happen to you.
Personally I was pretty much done with everything pertaining to politics when Trump won. My view is that humanity is basically doomed and that the most noble thing our destructive species could do is try not to fuck up the place too much before we inevitably go extinct. So politics and everything that has to do with human society leaves me quite cold most of the time.
But then there was Trump. Trump who loves Putin and nukes and assaulting women. Trump who is giving away immense power to Mike Pence and other Christian theocrats like him. Trump who wants to bomb civilians and who doesn’t even have the restrain to not rant on Twitter in the middle of the night. And then, well, even a bitter cynic like me couldn’t  help but feel like it just wasn’t right. So I decided to do something about it.
Truth be told, I’m not a strong supporter of the resistance (I’m not sure I can consider myself really a part of it as I’m not an American) simply because I’m such a nice guy. Had I been a Christian, heterosexual, cis and rich it’s possible I might not have cared as much. But I’m not all these things. I am a natural enemy of Trump and his Christian fundamentalist minions simply by virtue of born being transgender and gay. By being an atheist I am their ideological enemy. And by being working class I am among those who will have to pay the biggest price when Trump fucks up the American, and then inevitably, the global economy.

Because that’s one thing I want to point out: what happens in the US affects us all. A lot of Americans don’t realize this but your country is the most powerful in the world financially, militarily and culturally. When shit goes bad in the US, shit goes bad everywhere.

Here in Europe we have already begun to see a “Trump effect”, where far-right nationalist parties of different countries have grown in confidence and are going to try their best to win coming elections. Just this year there will be many elections in the EU. Among other places in France, where the country soon could be run by a party founded by a man whose racism makes Trump look like an amateur. 

So for many, involvement in the resistance is not about being a sore loser or crybaby. It’s about fighting back against those who want to fight us. 

Here’s the thing: I couldn’t give two shits about your beliefs. If you think I’m a repulsive human being who will be barbecued in hell by Jesus simply for being queer, that’s honestly fine with me. I really don’t care.

And if you think you’re a superior being because of the color of your skin or nationality, nobody can force you to believe otherwise.

But when you actively attempt to make your bigoted beliefs into law…. When you want to take away people’s rights, like forbidding them to marry the one they love or doing what they want with their own bodies, when you want to make them second-class citizen just because they have more melanin in their skin… Well, now we have a problem.

So here’s your answer. Why do people fight back? Because you made them your enemies and they aren’t just going to take it.

But you want to know what really saddens me? That so many never wanted to be your enemies. All could have lived in peace. Gay and bi and straight people. White people and people of color. Atheists and religious people. Muslims and Christians. Cis and trans. But you didn’t want that. You chose a man who doesn’t want that and whose VP most definitely does not want that.

So I guess this means the fight is on. Try not to hurt yourself.

Leave a Reply

