A Poem – My Brother the Cypress

Recently I was on vacation in Majorca and on one particular evening when I was sitting on the balcony of the hotell room, looking at the shore and the sea, words came to me:

Warm Mediterranean night 
Soft Tempo of the waves
A billion stars hiding overhead
I gaze over the shore and see
The majestic cypress tree
He reaches for the heavens always
And like me he is the son of cosmic dust,
An orphan of long-gone nebulas
I see his solitude against the sky
And feel in me a longing
To breathe in the breath of life
To breathe in the passing days fleeing before me
Before I no longer can and fall again to dust
And always to remember with a smile
That the stars died so the trees could live

Leave a Reply

