Transition update: second appointment at the fertility clinic

Today I had my second appointment at the fertility clinic to discuss the process of freezing my oocytes (human eggs). The doctor explained the process, which you can read more about here.
I was explained the hormonal treatment I will have to undergo before the eggs can be collected. If I understood correctly I will have to take injections for about three weeks. The first five days I will be taking injections (one every day) to stimulate ovulation. Then I will continue taking them for two more weeks along with another injection (also one every day) to suppress my own hormone production.
When the hormonal treatment is done,  the eggs will be taken out through transvaginal oocyte retrieval.
The injections will be done in the stomach, under the navel. A nurse showed me how to do it so that I will be able to do them myself. I got to give myself an injection with saline solution to practice and found to my surprise that it didn’t hurt nearly as much as I thought it would. It did feel a bit unpleasant, but it’s nothing I can’t handle.
I will start the treatment probably in mid-August as I will be out of the country for several weeks this summer. The start of the treatment also has to be carefully synced with the right period of the menstrual cycle as the first shot is given on the second or third day of the menses.
I will update again once I start the hormonal treatment.
To learn some fertility facts important to know as a trans person, you can check out this helpful link.

Leave a Reply

