Giving it another try: Going back on ADHD-medication

For a couple of years now I’ve tried my best to deal with my ADHD symptoms without taking meds. I’ve managed it somewhat but now I really don’t think I can do it anymore. My mind is a mess right now I can’t get anything done. If I don’t do something about it soon it will continue to negatively impact my personal and professional life, so I really want to get help as soon as I can.

I really tried to get by without medical help for my ADHD symptoms, not because I am opposed to taking medication but because I had a pretty bad experience the last time I tried taking them. I was on Concerta on two different occasions. The first time the dosage was way too high and it made me go kind of crazy. The second time was a little better, I was on a lower dose but the medication still gave me tones of anxiety.

I’ve tried all kinds of things over the years to deal with my symptoms: caffeine pills, meditation and mindfulness, rigorous schedule planning etc. But nothing seems to work well enough.

I have an appointment tomorrow at the psychiatrist’s office and I will bring it up with her that I want to go back on medication. I don’t know if I will take the same pills as before or if I will try new ones but I really hope things will work better this time.

I will document my experience with going back on ADHD medication in case anyone is interested in learning more about taking meds to treat ADHD.

I’m not exactly sure of when I am going to get to restart my treatment but I will update once I know more.

Leave a Reply

