How my transition is going

So I thought I’d use this blog also to document my transition and here’s how it’s been going so far.

For a little over a year now I have been going through an obligatory evaluation before I get to start the medical part of my transition. My latest appointment at the gender clinic was yesterday where I met the psychologist who will handle the third and final part of my evaluation. Previously I have met a doctor and a social worker who both said that as far as they can tell I am a good candidate to receive an official diagnosis of transsexualism, which is required to get approved for medical transition.

After the third part of my evaluation is done all three of them will have a meeting and, I hope, give me give me my diagnosis.

This will be a victory for me, but a slightly bittersweet one. While it will mean that I will finally get the treatment I need, transsexualism is classified here in Sweden as a serious mental illness and the state will have thereby labeled me for life as a deeply deranged individual. But what choice do I have if I want to get the medical treatment I need?

Anyway, from want I’ve been told I can expect to start testosterone sometimes in the beginning of this summer. Shortly after I will get to have my top surgery. My hope is to both be on T and have my mastectomy done before fall.

I am also in the process of having some of my eggs freezed and I will update on it as well as my transition in general.

Feel free to follow me on my adventures towards becoming my true self. If you have any question about this whole transition process, feel free to ask and I will answer after the best of my ability 🙂

Leave a Reply

